Thinking the whole when making decision about your ERP development projects

Buildings

As a product manager you quite often find yourself thinking development priorities. Marketing and sales want’s something, business management wants something, technical people wants totally different and list goes on. Addition to the needs you need think about your capabilities.

I already wrote in my previous post how to use the Kano model for prioritizing. Because the Kano model mostly focus on features I wanted to expand my view. The key is to think needs and capabilities as a whole. In this post I give a quick overview to how I have grouped and analyzed needs and capabilities. Based on that I’m able to create better development priorities for my team and communicate those to all stakeholders.

So what point of views to consider when deciding priorities for  development projects? I divide question to three sub questions.

  • What kind of business you are running,
  • what’s your position in existing markets and
  • what kind of resources you have?

How your business model affects to your product development priorities?

Roughly there can be two business models for software development. Revenue comes either from product licenses or from software projects. If first is important then it’s necessary to put focus on product features. If the latter is more important then it’s better to develop tools or methods which help you to deliver quality projects. Usually you belong somewhere in between those two models.

Businessmodel

What about markets?

As I wrote in my previous post you need to have basic features and something to keep your product competitive. To make good decisions you need to analyse your position in markets and understand what’s important for your product.

Last question was related to resources

There is two main resources needed. First you need to have the money to do the product development. With the new ERP product it’s usually an external investment which makes it possible to do needed development. When the sales are ongoing activity then part of the revenue can be pointed for the development.

Addition to the money you need skilled people. Without experts it’s difficult to arrange a quality development. There is also interesting connection for the business model: If you own your product then you usually have a deeper knowledge (domain-, product- and technical knowledge) to develop the product.

The point: Think the whole and make decisions

I have mentioned three things which I have needed to consider when thinking priorities for the ERP product development. If  I wouldn’t do this I could end up to situation where I promise features which my team can’t deliver or for which I don’t have money. Or I could promise something which really don’t give value for my business model.

Decisions

When thinking your context, you might find more.

One thought on “Thinking the whole when making decision about your ERP development projects

  1. Pingback: Developing your ERP product features | Jukka-Pekka "JP" Jokiaho

Leave a Reply

